Daily Archives: September 27, 2011

Sweet as Carmel

The last stop of my USA extravaganza was sweet as Carmel. Andrew and I were reunited after 3 weeks apart (isn’t this getting old?) and joined by a big group of our friends to see Mazy and Adam tie the knot at a beautiful ranch in Carmel by the Sea, CA.

The venue and the bride were absolutely gorgeous and the attention to detail made the occasion extra special. They had a salt ceremony, bells to ring and without a doubt the best first dance I have ever seen.

I really recommend watching it in its entirety at the end of the post.

I could kick myself for not reminding Andrew to bring his fancy camera. I had my phone but the photos look like I took them on my phone and this day definitely deserved better. Still, I think you will get the picture.

Together again.

We all arrived by bus to the ranch and then were taken by golf carts up to the wedding site. It felt like we were the only people for miles and miles. The view was breathtaking and the weather perfect.

The bridesmaids had those Two Bird dresses. So pretty.

The guys in suits.

Mazy bride with her dad,

and her husband!

The ceremony was beautiful with a backdrop to die for and their vows were some of the best I have ever heard.

During the wedding, everyone received a salt packet and a vase was passed for us to fill. Then Mazy and Adam poured their own salt and all our salt together in one place – best part – salt is a preservative allowing us all to take part in making their marriage keep.

Just before they were announced as officially wed, we were each given a bell to ring. Apparently it’s an old Irish tradition – perfect for an Irish couple. No two bells were alike which I loved and we carried them with us to dinner to ring for a kiss.

Worst pictures ever I know.

But cutest ideas right?

Wedding pictures of all the married guests. Can you find us?

Everyone received a gift of olive oil made at the ranch.

Dinner was in this A-M-A-Z-I-N-G courtyard, where we feasted on family style salmon and beef. It was one of the most intimate settings I have ever shared with several hundred.

Outside the courtyard was a barn for the band/dance party and a beautiful outside lounge complete with an ice cream bar.

While the photos may not be the best, seeing Choq reunited with his b-school buddies was pretty close to it.

It was a long overdue weekend for us to be together with dear friends and 100% worth the miles he flew to be there. Congrats Mazy and Adam!

Don’t forget to watch the dance (and yes – that is me singing in the background – sigh).

Untitled from Mary Swanson on Vimeo.