Culture Shock

in California!

Culture shock is defined (thank you Wikipedia) as the difficulty people have adjusting to a new culture that differs markedly from their own. These days, I am no stranger to culture shock. In fact, it’s almost more shocking if I am not adjusting to a new culture.

After the weekend in Carmel, I had an extra day before flying back to Korea. Despite the long and winding drive, I decided to make the trip up the California coast and through the Redwoods to Arcata to visit my baby brother Jerry – a Natural Resource Planning major at Humboldt State.

The drive up was gorgeous. At times, it was narrow and slow going, but absolutely gorgeous. If you ever have an opportunity to experience Northern California, I recommend it. It is like a completely different planet – and a beautiful one at that.

Much to my surprise, the sleepy little coast town of Arcata proved to be the most intense cultural adjustment I have had in my recent travels. It is so hidden from the rest of the world, and the peace and quiet and beauty was overwhelming after so many big cities and noisy/crowded streets.

It was a little eery for this city girl.

Thank goodness Jerry and Arda were there to help me through it 😉

You made me feel right at home.

PS We promise to return the favor when you guys come to Korea – we CANNOT wait to have you for Christmas in Seoul! XO.

4 responses to “Culture Shock

  1. When we were at the Northern California coast (and not as far north as that) it was breathtaking and felt like the edge of the earth.

  2. Loved your description of Arcata. We’re there in 4 weeks! Can’t wait. Also, mailed itinerary. What a journey it was to get that simple task completed.

  3. I haven’t seen Jer Bears hair since it has been cut – LOVE IT! Looks like he picked a great place to go to school.

  4. I LOVE seeing YOU, JER & ARDA together. Makes may heart sing with JOY!!! I talked to Jer and they have their Tickets, so fun. They will be in Great hands for the holidays, Love, Momma

Leave a comment